Skip to content

Home SQA Advanced Diploma Subjects Financial Services

SQA Advanced Diploma in Financial Services

No one can escape making financial decisions. From those early decisions about whether to spend or save your pocket money through to decisions about pensions and easing your life after retirement, financial decisions are a fundamental part of life.

The financial services industry encompasses a wide range of activities to do with personal, industrial and commercial finance. Achieving the SQA Advanced Diploma in Financial Services can lead to a career in a wide variety of commercial environments.

The SQA Advanced Diploma in Financial Services consists of 30 unit credits. Each unit credit has approximately 40 hours of timetabled learning and 40 hours of self-guided learning and study. The SQA Advanced Diploma usually takes two academic years to complete, but this timeframe is flexible.

An SQA Advanced Diploma in Financial Services can allow advanced entry to an English-speaking university. SQA’s qualifications are recognised worldwide.

Course Tutor Guide (including Course Framework)

SQA Advanced Diploma in Financial Services

Code: GM58 48

SQA Advanced Diploma in Financial Services Course Tutor Guide

A Guide for Tutors

Communication Units

This document is aimed at tutors who are teaching learners whose first language is not English.

The purpose of this document is to provide a selection of formative exercises that will:

  • motivate learners
  • increase confidence in communicating effectively in English
  • prepare learners to successfully pass the summative assessments

Communication Units for SQA Advanced Qualifications

Research Skills

This guide provides support for developing good practice in how the Research Skills Unit (HR0Y 47) might be delivered, scheduled and assessed. It contains guidance on delivering the Research Skills Unit both on a stand-alone basis or integrating with other Units, and provides customised checklists for integration with various Graded Units